Photo provided by: 
Michael Jensen

Liturgical Seasons

The Liturgical Year

Throughout the course of the liturgical year the church celebrates the profound mystery of the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

  • The Church year starts with the first Sunday of Advent and ends on Christ the King in late November. 
  • Two main cycles anchor the liturgical year: the Incarnation Cycle (Advent and Christmas) and the Paschal Cycle (Lent and Easter).
  • The remainder of the year, known as Ordinary Time is punctuated with additional celebrations of Christ, the Blessed Mother and the Saints.

Incarnation Cycle

Advent is a time of preparation and Christmas is the time of celebration of Jesus’ birth, the first manifestation of Christ. During this season we also anticipate the final manifestation of Christ at the end of time.

Paschal Cycle

During Lent and Easter we celebrate the mystery of the sacrificial life, death and resurrection of Jesus. It involves preparation (Lent) and celebration (Easter season) and ends with Pentecost.

Ordinary Time

The remainder of the year is known as Ordinary Time. During these 33 or 34 weeks we ponder the miracles and teachings of Christ as they have been recorded in Scripture.