Photo provided by: 
Michael Jensen


Celebrating the Paschal Mystery

The Paschal Cycle comprises three distinct periods: 

  1. Lent, which is the time of preparation
  2. Holy week with the Sacred Triduum
  3. Easter Tide which is a time of great celebration ending with Pentecost

During Lent we focus on:

  1. the celebration of the mystery of the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ
  2. and our incorporation in this mystery by virtue of our baptism.

For a complete list of Lenten offerings including liturgies, learning and outreach opportunities, visit our Events Calendar and check the box for "Lent" in the filter.

Lenten Liturgies

In addition to the regularly scheduled celebration of the Eucharist on Sundays and weekdays the liturgical schedule during Lent comprises:

  • Ash Wednesday, marks the beginning of Lent. We have the Imposition of the Ashes at all Masses as a reminder that we are to repent and model our lives after that of Jesus.
    • 7:00am: Eucharist and imposition of Ashes / Public Worship & Livestream
    • Noon:     Eucharist and imposition of Ashes / Public Worship & Livestream
      • Outdoor distribution of Ashes for those unable to attend public worship.
    • 5:30pm: Eucharist and imposition of Ashes* / Public Worship & Livestream
      • Outdood distrbution of Ashes after Mass for those unable to attend public worship.
    • * ASL Interpreted
  • Morning Prayer on Tuesday and Thursday
  • Evening Prayer on Sunday 
  • Stations of the Cross Fridays of Lent
  • Taizé prayer with the opportunity for individual celebration of the Sacrament of Reconciliation
  • Sacrament of Reconciliation
  • Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick