Photo provided by: 
Rich Columbo


Marking each day with prayer

In addition to the Sacraments, the Catholic Church has many other forms of prayer, both individual and communal. Among those, the Liturgy of the Hours enjoys prominence of place.

The Liturgy of the Hours is intended to help us live out Jesus’ command to pray always. It comprises five moments of prayer intended to mark different times of the day.

  • The Office of Readings: though traditionally celebrated during the middle of the night this prayer now may be recited at the beginning of the day or at any time of day.
  • Morning Prayer or Lauds: celebrated at the beginning of the day, this prayer in intended to thank God for the new day and to ask for God's blessing on all we do.
  • Daytime Prayer: celebrated mid-morning, midday or mid-afternoon, this short prayer calls us to focus on God in all we do.
  • Evening Prayer or Vespers: celebrated at the end of the day this prayers gives thanks to God for all the blessings we received.
  • Night Prayer or Compline: celebrated before going to sleep this prayer allows us to look back at our day and to ask for God's blessing on the night.

The Liturgy of the Hours may be celebrated in community or in private. Though these prayers are traditionally associated with religious life, laypeople too are encouraged to celebrate the Liturgy of the Hours, especially Morning and Evening Prayer. 

What happens during the Liturgy of the Hours?

  • Singing of a hymn, psalms and canticles
  • Proclamation of the Word of God
  • Prayers for the Church and the world

The Basilica offers the following on a regular basis:

Morning Prayer:

  • Tuesday at 9:15am in the Basilica Choir Stalls during Advent, Christmas and Lent.
  • Thursday at 9:15am in the Basilica Choir Stalls throughout the year

Evening Prayer:

  • Sunday at 3:00pm in the Basilica Choir Stalls during Advent, Christmas, Lent.