Experience God’s Saving Presence

Through these ritual expressions,Christians experience the love of God as revealed in the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.


The original meaning of the word sacrament comes from the Latin sacramentum, “oath” or “pledge”. It broadly referred to any manifestation or revelation of the sacred (sacer).

Over time, the Roman Catholic Church defined specific Christian rituals as sacraments.

Since the 12th century, we have celebrated seven sacraments. They can be grouped into three categories.

Sacraments of initiation

  • Baptism becoming a Christian.
  • Confirmationconfirming your baptismal promises; both lead to the Eucharist.
  • Eucharistgathering to be fed by the Word and by the Body and Blood of Christ. 

Sacraments of Healing

Sacraments of Vocation

  • Marriagecelebrating the love between a man and a woman as a gift from God.
  • Holy Ordershearing God’s call to ordained ministry and to be of service to the Catholic community.